Posted by: theovalich | October 24, 2008

COMMENT ON ZAGREB KILLINGS: If I could only write good news…

… as you can see by the title of my blog, I wanted to focus on the bright side of this industry. This does not mean to blindly follow what marketing writes, but exactly the opposite – and sadly, I had to be interrupted.

Photo courtesy of Index.hr

Photo courtesy of Index.hr

At 6:25PM, car bomb killed mr. Ivo Pukanic and mr. Niko Franic. Ivo was founder and owner of Nacional Media Group (NCL), while Niko was director of marketing and a sad collateral in this act of terrorism.

As of tonight, several good friends of mine have been put under police protection as a consequence of yesterday’s car bombing which took lifes of Ivo Pukanic and Niko Franic. What makes the matter worse, or IT-based is the fact that these friends had nothing to do with writing about politics. I don’t think they wrote a single politics-based or crime-investigating article. They wrote about world economy, reviewed console games and basically, lead normal lives of a journalist that is always pressed by deadlines. Now, they have police cars in front of their homes, and I spent the night calming people down.

It is 2:59AM right now, and instead of doing benchmarks of Badaboom encoding software, I’m spending my night talking with colleagues and friends that have police cars in front of their homes. Yes, the situation is critical, and nobody knows who’s next. After 68 unsolved mob-murders and god-knows how many non-tied ones (but were tied), streets of Zagreb are not safe. I only hope that airport will be in one place until I leave on Sunday morning.

When I moved to California, a lot of my Croatian friends told me the regular crap when it comes to US, mostly based on experiences of watching TV shows. Sadly, I cannot explain to these people what US is all about, but we all know how cities in US with terrible crime rates had crackdowns where corrupt officials were taken down.

For my Croatian buddies sending me messages to “calm down” and “you’re misrepresenting Croatia, America is much worse”, all that I can say is – wake up and smell the coffee. When it comes to America, watch American Gangster or read how Guiliani fought crime on the streets of New York.

Sadly, a lot of things are happening in Croatia, as a consequence of govenrment that placed their heads in the sand for 15 years and let almost 70 mob-related murders go unpunished, doing only cosmetic changes to the way how police force works. I wish police and special forces all the best in fighting crime, but as it is right now, Croatia is no longer a safe country. You can be the next collateral in mob killings that happen during daytime, 100 meters from the central police HQ in Croatia (last week’s execution of Ivana Hodak), or worse.

My thoughts and prays are with those who are now being protected. May no more blood be shed.

UPDATE@4:23AM: I’ve learned that one of my ex-colleagues was injured in the car bombing. Ivica Horvat and  Vedran Duhacek worked in the graphics department of NCL. According to information I have now, police has increased protection on journalists and media owners in City of Zagreb.

Responses

  1. Shit….

  2. …has hit the fan.

  3. Yes, but he meant the article (is full of …. )

  4. Hi Goran, nice to see that you’re continuing with your policy of “putting the head in the sand”. First messages on Facebook telling me that I shouldn’t write bad things about Croatia” then this… I spoke with SD4N on MSN until 4AM, just like I spoke with my friends in Zagreb about the situation.

    No offense, but at this moment one of my friends is still in the hospital, and others aren’t feeling well. I hope that you won’t have to experience last night… nor should anybody.

  5. Hi Theo, I prefer writing to you here instead of on skype to show how much I feel your anguish to be real. Sorry to say, but people never really “get the facts right” unless they experience them theirselves. Never been to Croatia, but you know my story: living in Brazil and Mexico was not that safer. I pretty well understand how you and your friends and collegues feel right know, and please accept, and pass to them also, my “good luck” wish. I hope your friend recovers fast from the injuries he suffered, and I hope the croatian police gets the responsibles soon (not the ones who put the bomb, but the ones “behind”).

    Garacs / George

  6. Goran, just curious. how is it full of shit?

  7. Hi Theo, I also understand how you feel, and feel for your fellow colleagues. I am also trying to promote Croatia through my website in good light as a country of rich culture, beautiful landscapes exquisite cuisine, and these kind of news are disturbing to say the least.

    To your friend i wish a speedy recovery, and to the police and government officials that they take decisive actions to prevent such things from happening ever again.

  8. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  9. Hello !! ^_^
    My name is Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that your posts are really interesting
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you:)
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

  10. Hi Peter, well, I do plan on to continue posting – but my priority now is http://www.brightsideofnews.com.

    This is my website, I am serving as editor-in-chief of the site, and we are consisted out of very experienced staff – and we’re putting stories in much larger volume than I was able to.

    I invite all visitors of this blog to come and register on Bright Side of News, as we are going to start pushing a lot of community-focused activities soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

